Farmers in 20 Counties to Receive Disaster Aid for Hail Damage

Farmers in 20 Counties to Receive Disaster Aid for Hail Damage

Disaster aid is on the way for farmers in 20 Michigan counties that suffered damage from severe hail storms this summer.

Farmers will be able to apply for disaster aid in the form of emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA).

US Senator Debbie Stabenow, Chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee says the hail storms that led to the disaster declaration occurred in June and August of this year.

Farmers in the affected counties will have eight months from Wednesday's disaster designation to apply for emergency loans.

The FSA will consider each application separately and take into account production losses as well as security and repayment ability.    Growers should contact their local Farm Service Agency for more information.

Huron, Jackson, Saginaw and Washtenaw counties were all designated as primary disaster counties.

Sixteen counties were named contiguous disaster counties and are eligible for the same aid as primary counties: Bay, Calhoun, Eaton, Genesee, Gratiot, Hillsdale, Ingham, Lenawee, Livingston, Midland, Monroe, Oakland, Sanilac, Shiawassee, Tuscola and Wayne.


More Articles